Exceptional Expectations is a Qualified Vendor contracted with the Arizona Department of Developmental Disabilities to provide in-home habilitation and respite services.


The Division of Developmental Disabilities (DDD), within the Arizona Department of Economic Security, provides support and services to eligible individuals with developmental disabilities. Visit the DDD site or call the DDD office nearest you and ask to speak with someone about an intake interview.



Eligibility Requirements

The Arizona Department of Economic Security/ Division of Developmental Disabilities provides needed supports to people who meet the following eligibility requirements. 

  • Is a resident of the state of Arizona

    • Resident means a person who physically resides within the state of Arizona with the intent to remain. The person who would receive services must be a resident except in the case of minors or adults who have a guardian whose residency is deemed to be the same as that of the custodial parent(s) or the guardian. The residency requirement is not applicable to children in foster care who are placed in accordance with state and federal laws regarding the Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children.

  • Voluntarily applies

    • Voluntarily applies means that no admission to services may be made for any person without the consent of the legally responsible person (parent, guardian or the person him/herself).

  • Is at risk of having a developmental disability (up to age six)

    • A child under the age of six years may be eligible if there is a strongly demonstrated potential that the child has or will have a developmental disability as determined by appropriate tests.

  • OR, for people over the age of six years, has a diagnosis of any of the following:

    • epilepsy (a seizure disorder)

    • cerebral palsy (a permanently disabling condition resulting from damage to the developing brain)

    • cognitive/intellectual disability (sub-average intellectual functioning. It does not include learning disabilities)

    • autism (a condition characterized by severe disorders in communication and behavior resulting in limited ability to communicate, understand, learn and participate in social relationships)

  • The disability occurred prior to the age of 18

  • Has substantial functional limitations in three of the seven major life areas

    • Substantial functional limitations in three of seven major life areas include:

    • Self-care: Eating, hygiene, bathing, etc.

    • Receptive and expressive language: Communicating with others

    • Learning: Acquiring and processing new information

    • Mobility: Moving from place to place

    • Self-direction: Managing personal finances, protecting self-interest, or making independent decisions which may affect well-being

    • Capacity for independent living: Needing supervision or assistance on a daily basis

    • Economic self-sufficiency: Being able to financially support oneself

  • If you do not believe the person would meet the eligibility requirements , but would like to explore other resources , click here.